Toggle Menu SearchSearch

Europe entry requirements: Schengen area

Conditions can change suddenly. We recommend you:

About Schengen

The Schengen area is made up of 26 European countries which have common entry and exit requirements. It allows travellers to move freely between member countries without having to go through border controls or have visas for each country.

The following countries comprise the Schengen area:

Entry and Exit 


You don't need a visa to travel to countries in the Schengen area for up to 90 days in any 180-day period. If you leave the Schengen area and return within the same 180-day period, the previous stay will count towards the 90 day maximum.

If you stay more than 90 days in a 180-day period in the Schengen area without a valid visa, you may be fined or banned from entering the Schengen area.

The Delegation of the European Union to Australia and the European Commission has more information, including a calculator to help you track your number of visa-free days.

You will need to apply for a visa before you travel if you're visiting for anything other than tourism or business. Apply for the visa at the Embassy, High Commission or Consulate of the Schengen country where you intend to stay the longest. If you'll be staying an equal length of time in more than one Schengen country, apply for your visa at the embassy of the first Schengen country you will visit. Visa rules relating to work and business visits are governed by the individual countries.

Other formalities

Make sure you get a clear entry stamp in your passport when you enter the Schengen area for the first time. Without a stamp, you could be fined or detained. 

Some countries require you to register with local authorities within three days of your arrival.

See our destination-specific travel advice for entry and exit details for each country, or check the European commission for information on temporary internal board controls.

The visa requirements described here only apply when travelling on your Australian passport. If you're a dual national and chose to travel on your other passport, you will need to check the visa requirements for that nationality. More information: Dual nationals

Non-Schengen European countries 

Many European countries are not part of the Schengen area. These countries include:

Consult the nearest High Commission, Embassy or Consulate of these countries for visa information.

Bilateral visa waiver agreements 

Australia has bilateral visa waiver agreements with several countries in the Schengen area. In most cases, these agreements allow you to spend up to 60 or 90 days in the country for tourism, regardless of stays in other Schengen countries.

Using these visa waiver agreements in combination with Schengen visa-free arrangements is complex. Each country operates the visa waiver agreements in its own way. Most countries require you to use the visa waiver agreement at the end of your Schengen area travel. Contact the Embassy or Consulate of the relevant country for the details on how they operate the visa-waiver agreements. 

Bilateral visa waiver agreement countries include:

For more information on the bilateral agreement for your destination, refer to the Australian Treaties Database.

Other European countries with visa waivers

Some European countries outside the Schengen area allow you to enter visa-free for tourism. Travel to these countries does not count towards the 90-day maximum for Schengen area travel. See individual country advisories for details of entry and exit arrangements.

Country                                                       Visa-free travel

Albania                                                         Up to 90 days

Armenia                                                        Up to 180 days per year

Belarus                                                         30 days per visit, with a maximum of 90 days per calendar year

Bosnia and Herzegovina                              Up to three months

Bulgaria                                                        Up to 90 days within a six-month period

Croatia                                                          Up to 90 days within a six-month period

Cyprus                                                          Up to 90 days within a six-month period

Georgia                                                         Up to 12 months

Ireland                                                           Up to 90 days

Kosovo                                                          Up to 90 days

Moldova                                                        Up to 90 days within a six-month period

Montenegro                                                   Up to 90 days within a six-month period

North Macedonia (Republic of North            Up to 90 days within a six-month period


Romania                                                       Up to 90 days

Serbia                                                           Up to 90 days within a six-month period

United Kingdom                                            Up to six months